Many Three mobile customers will be able to use their phones at no extra cost in a further 11 destinations from today – including Costa Rica and Peru.

Three now allows customers on its Advanced plans to use their UK minutes, texts and data in 71 countries around the world, and pay nothing more than they would at home.

The extra 11 destinations are Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Uruguay, Vietnam and Mayotte, an overseas region of France.

All mobile phone networks have to allow customers to use their UK allowance in European Union countries, but some networks also allow customers to do so in countries outside the EU.

See our Cheap Mobile and Data Roaming guide for more information.